New to Alfas..looking for an education.... - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums
 12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 45 (permalink) Old 07-19-2017, 05:00 PM Thread Starter

New to Alfas..looking for an education....

Hi All,

Well, just in the process of picking up an 81 Spider....a long parked, non running version

I'm totally new to Alfas and to be honest with you, I'm taking a lot of ribbing from my Brit Car Forum Family having just added an "oddball" to my stable...

It will be joining a bunch of old Triumphs that I have currently...these include a 1959 TR3A, 1960 TR3A, 1968 TR250, 1973 TR6 and an injected 1981 TR8.

As I'm waiting for the car to arrive from the west coast (purchased from a friend who's told me about it for the past 15 years) I have been trying to do a little research, doing a little reading and watching a few YouTube videos. I'm pretty excited to get it, dig into it and at least get it back on the road.

As an 81, I'm assuming that this is a mechanically injected car (Spica)? I guess that is my first official question...the reason I ask is the video I'm watching on the Spica pump indicates that it was used up to 1979...from what I've read, it seems that the electronic (Bosch) injection started in 1982...

That's all for now...going to browse around a bit to find out some info on parts availability/suppliers and what shop manuals are best...I like to do all my own work when I can

That's it for now

Cheers
Tush
alfabeach likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 45 (permalink) Old 07-19-2017, 05:16 PM

1st
Tush understands...welcome, buddy! I know you from the 6-pack forums and your awesome YouTube channel. You, sir, are a true car-guy.

I can't wait to see how you like the spider's seating position. It's different