Having trouble tuning dual Weber setup - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-13-2017, 04:56 PM Thread Starter

Having trouble tuning dual Weber setup

Completing a restoration of an 81 Spider and now trying to get the car running well. Car has dual 40DCOEs. I can get the car to idle very smoothly but in order to do so the idle mixture screws have to come out at least 2 to 3 turns which is too much according to my setup documents. According to the tuneup instructions, this indicates the car has a lean idle circuit, and needs different jets. I'm not a carb expert so I'm not sure if that is the proper diagnosis. More info: Carbs are properly in sync according to Uni-syn... Any application of the gas causes the car to stumble as if it is not getting enough fuel. No matter how many little tweaks I do to the idle mixture screws, I cannot get the car to rev without stumbling severely.

FWIW, we just completed a restoration of a 79 with the same dual 40DCOE configuration and I had no trouble getting that car running. This 81 is much trickier for some reason.

Any tips or advice is greatly appreciated, thanks!

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk

Adam in Nashville: '72 Alfa Romeo GTV 2000 - '86 Alfa Romeo Spider Veloce - '74 BMW 2002tii - '90 BMW E30/S52 - '05 BMW X5 - '06 BMW 325i
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-13-2017, 05:45 PM
Platinum Subscriber

What is the full model number of the DCOE's? Most of the information that you are likely to find only refers to models up to 40DCOE32. There are significant differences in later models, particularly in the idle/progression circuits.

Ed Prytherch
79 Spider
76 Suzuki GT500
2011 Jaguar XKR

A little government and a little luck are necessary in life, but only a fool trusts either of them. - P.J. O'Rourke
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-13-2017, 06:40 PM

In anticipation of what Alfaparticle will advise...