'84 Spider Steering Column Bolt Sizes ?? - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-05-2008, 06:36 AM Thread Starter

'84 Spider Steering Column Bolt Sizes ??

Fellow Spider Owners,

I have an '84 Spider that I have recently had the consoles and steering column apart in order to successfully chase wiring issues ( thanks to all of your wonderful input for sure !!!- I am a novice..could not have done it without you ) and am putting the upper and lower pieces of the steering column back together ...could anyone tell me the sizes of the bolts ( i think there are a total of 4 ) to save me a lot of time on trial and error ? The PO had it "tie wrapped " together- ( functional but not the most athetically pleasing !!-smile ) . Thanks in advance and you all have a great day out there driving your Spiders !!!

Rick
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-05-2008, 06:47 AM
1966-2013
Platinum Subscriber

You mean the plastic 'clamshell' cover(s) that enclose the column, stalks and ignition switch?

If so, those would be phillips head screws.

I don't know the specific length right off, but the front ones are more or less 'normal' length (you know, the first length that would pop into your head when someone said 'it's a screw') while those at the back are noticably longer, and they do set down into the recesses so they are 'blind' when installed.

You can bench assemble to test without having to fart around crawling on the floorboards or leaning through the wheel to try different sizes.

Darren
'84 manufacture ~ '85 MY Spider Graduate

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

as hosted by

&
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-05-2008, 07:21 AM Thread Starter

Tifosi,