New owner tires, suspension and head question - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-22-2007, 03:16 PM Thread Starter

New owner tires, suspension and head question

Hello Alfa enthusiasts,

I am the proud owner of a 1978 black spider and really enjoy the car unfortunately the old lady needs some care.
The rear suspension needs some rejuvenating cure and a new head is required.

I like the rims that the PO put on but the tires (Wynstar - Phaser I 195x60R14) rub on the outer wheel fender in the back and the noise is excruciating can somebody tell me what type of rim is this?
Do you have any suggestion to avoid the rubbing, new tires? What type?

On the suspension side, I really want to install new spring, dampener and bushing (IAP performance with Koni Red or Bilstein) ,
I was wondering how complex the procedure is (I am a total newbie) and what kind of tool I can use to compress the spring,
I read on this forum that people use threaded rod but I am a bit scared of this procedure.

On the head side, is this something I can do myself? Is there any gotcha?

Thanks in advance for your replies

Regards,

/Patrick
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-22-2007, 05:52 PM
BB Janitor
Platinum SubscriberAdministratorSuper Moderator

Garage
Welcome to the Alfa BB. This a great resource for all things Alfa. But, to be honest, we can't make an Alfa mechanic out of you. Are you willing to learn? Are you willing to study the procedures to make sure you understand what you might need to do? IMO, anyone who answers yes to those questions can indeed "D-I-Y".

Start by ordering some books about Alfa repair. Start with a couple of books by Pat Braden: Alfa Romeo Owners Bible and Alfa Romeo Twin Cam Companion. I got a copy of the Alfa shop Manual on a CD from Car Disc.