Embarrassing Confession - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-27-2007, 07:44 AM Thread Starter
BB Janitor
Platinum SubscriberAdministrator

Garage
Embarrassing Confession

OK, I have an embarressing confession to make. It took me 3 days of on & off searching to figure out the simple reason why our '84 Spider wasn't running right.

The symptoms began rather quickly - idle became rough, idle speed dropped from 950 to 650 rpm, and it would stumble on initial throttle opening. Once revved up to 2500+ rpm it would pull strongly to 5500.

My first thought was vacuum leak. I checked the intake air ducts and all the hoses. Didn't find anything amis.

I pulled the spark plug wires one by one and found that removing the #1 plug wire didn't make the idle worse. Removing any other spark plug wire did. I cleaned the spark plugs and swapped their locations - no change. I swapped plug wires - no change. I even replaced the cap & rotor (even though I had verified a good spark to #1). No change.

I checked compression. Good - 175 to 180 psi in all cylinders. Valve clearances all correct. I cleaned & tightened grounds.

Now I was thinking maybe I had a faulty fuel injector. I had sent them out for cleaning last year when I rebuilt the motor. Rather than just replace the injector I removed the fuel rail with injectors and had my able (and beautiful...) assistant crank the engine while I watched. All the injectors appeared to spray equally well. And not spray when they shouldn't.

Finally, with increasing desperation I decided to remove the oil vapor separator and clean it out (although I had done so last year before installing the rebuilt engine and didn't expect it to be gunked up).