My (quite poor) recent experience with Chris Obert - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 03-11-2016, 08:25 AM Thread Starter

My (quite poor) recent experience with Chris Obert

I have been buying Fiat parts form Chris Obert / Fiat plus for 7 or 8 years now with no issues.

However last week I ordered a couple of small items from his website and I believe I chose the cheapest shipping via UPS.

The next day I received an email from Chris saying that he wanted me to sign a form because I had chosen to ship via uninsured USPS.

That led me to do some research because I thought the shipping charge was too expensive. $38 dollars to ship a thermostat and a gasket from CA to TX via USPS (Priority Mail) seemed a lot. So I went online and checked what it would cost to ship -using Priority Mail, one of the small flat rate boxes (a box that is 11? x 8.5? x 5.5? -more than enough to fit a thermostat and a gasket), and I got a quote for $13 dollars. $25 DOLLARS LESS than what Chris was charging me!! UPS quoted me $13 for a ground shipment, same as the USPS.

So I replied to his email with all this information, suggesting he fix his system to reflect more reasonable shipping charges. And asking for a reasonable shipping charge for my $22 dollar order.

What I got in reply was not nice, his excuse for the (I believe outrageous) shipping charge was (and I quote from his email to me):

"As for what the web store charges for shipping of orders, it takes the dimensional weight that I have entered into the system FOR EACH ITEM, adds them together, and uses the web store links to your chosen carrier to calculate the shipping.
In other words, if you order 10 washers that weigh in dimensionally at 1 pound each, you will pay for a 10 pound box. Yes, we both know it will weigh less than one pound and be dimensionally only 1 pound, but that's not the way the programs calculate it.