How difficult is it really to reconstruct the stock AC setup with new parts? - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 01-31-2014, 02:53 PM Thread Starter

How difficult is it really to reconstruct the stock AC setup with new parts?

Flipping through a parts catalog last night, it occurred to me that replacing the majority of my presumably non-functioning stock AC system with new parts wouldn't be that expensive. The blower and control unit works fine, the condenser is present, so all I think I'd need would be a new compressor and maybe a receiver/dryer. The hoses and fittings all appear to be OK.

I have NO experience dealing with AC, however this job doesn't seem that daunting. '82 GTV6.

Am I being naive?

as good as a car can be... briefly.
'82 GTV6

Last edited by chairmankaga; 01-31-2014 at 02:57 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-08-2014, 12:10 PM

Try jensenparts.com for compressor. Very reasonable. If your comp is an oddball, like on my '87 Spider, they will rebuild yours for you. My unit is a short case Sanden 507. They quoted $85 for a complete rebuild, including clutch.

87 spider grad, 06 audi cab, 12 prius, 79 bellanca viking
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-09-2014, 05:07 AM

To put the whole system back together isn't that difficult, what you need to do is to figure out what isn't working. Could just be a leak in the system with all the components working fine (I'd still replace the dryer in that situation). If you have access to a vacuum pump you can pull a vacuum and then let it sit for a while to see if there is a leak.

If there is no leak then you need to determine if the compressor is seized.