White smoke from tailpipe on hard left turn - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 11:47 AM Thread Starter

White smoke from tailpipe on hard left turn

Good golly Miss Molly! Yesterday I needed make an evasive move to avoid a traffic jam. I did a hard 60 degree left turn going faster that I would like. As soon as I completed the turn, white smoke started billowing out of my tailpipe. James Bond would have been proud of the smoke screen I laid down. The smoke only lasted about 10 seconds then went away. Car drove fine during the smoke screen and after. Today at lunch I did a U-turn at a bit of speed and lo and behold, the smoke screen came back.

What can be causing that? I put a new head gasket on last summer. Car never smoked like this before, and I am sure I have made spirited turns in the past. I will get an occasion puff of blue smoke, but I know I need a valve job(this winter). Never anything like this.

1750 engine

Howie
1970 1750 GTV
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 11:57 AM

Check your brake booster it can have a leak and fill up.
1978alfa, deepblue and sbadaro like this.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 12:09 PM Thread Starter

Dolmon, I thing you may on to something. I posted previously that I have noticed my low brake fluid light has gone on twice in the last two weeks and I needed to fill the reservoir. I was told to check the booster. Being a dunce, I'm not sure what that means. My car has a single booster. What am I checking?

Howie
1970 1750 GTV
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 12:25 PM

Take off the hose on the booster and stick something down in there and if the end is wet you need a new booster .It has a leak.
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 12:31 PM
But Mad North-Northwest
Platinum Subscriber