Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums (https://www.alfabb.com/bb/forums/)
-   GT (1963-1977) (https://www.alfabb.com/bb/forums/gt-1963-1977/)
-   -   White smoke from tailpipe on hard left turn (https://www.alfabb.com/bb/forums/gt-1963-1977/679890-white-smoke-tailpipe-hard-left-turn.html)

howieb4 05-16-2019 11:47 AM

White smoke from tailpipe on hard left turn

Good golly Miss Molly! Yesterday I needed make an evasive move to avoid a traffic jam. I did a hard 60 degree left turn going faster that I would like. As soon as I completed the turn, white smoke started billowing out of my tailpipe. James Bond would have been proud of the smoke screen I laid down. The smoke only lasted about 10 seconds then went away. Car drove fine during the smoke screen and after. Today at lunch I did a U-turn at a bit of speed and lo and behold, the smoke screen came back.

What can be causing that? I put a new head gasket on last summer. Car never smoked like this before, and I am sure I have made spirited turns in the past. I will get an occasion puff of blue smoke, but I know I need a valve job(this winter). Never anything like this.

1750 engine

dolmon 05-16-2019 11:57 AM

Check your brake booster it can have a leak and fill up.

howieb4 05-16-2019 12:09 PM

Dolmon, I thing you may on to something. I posted previously that I have noticed my low brake fluid light has gone on twice in the last two weeks and I needed to fill the reservoir. I was told to check the booster. Being a dunce, I'm not sure what that means. My car has a single booster. What am I checking?

dolmon 05-16-2019 12:25 PM

Take off the hose on the booster and stick something down in there and if the end is wet you need a new booster .It has a leak.

Gubi 05-16-2019 12:31 PM

If there is fluid in the booster (which seems a likely cause) then your brake master cylinder is leaking, not the booster. The fix is a new MC.

howieb4 05-16-2019 12:38 PM