Alfa Romeo Forums banner

Koni Yellows on the front and Reds on the rear?

4K views 15 replies 9 participants last post by  joecautela 
#1 ·
Sorry for my ignorance, but I was wondering if I can put koni yellow’s in the front and koni red’s in the rear on a 1968 Gt 1300 Juinior. I have the reds already on the rear, but I don’t have any front shocks for it yet. I know they will fit (keeping in mind that I buy the right ones), but how will it drive?

Thank you in advance for your replies, comments, and opinions.

Luigi

#3 ·
Veep,

Ride quality is not an issue. I want the car to be firm. But the reason I’m asking this is because I have only seen one Alfa with yellows in the front and reds in the rear and it was a Milano. So I’m asking my self how well it would work on the GT. And the other reason I’m asking is because as a university student I don’t have much money to throw and since I have the reds already I was thinking that yellows in the front might work well.

Thanks for your response,

Luigi

#7 ·
I've been wrong before, but don't you guys have it backwards? Both red and yellow Konis are adjustable on rebound, but the range for the yellows is stiffer than the red. Maybe 60'sRacer was referring to the bump setting? I have seen lots of race cars running yellows on the front and reds on the rear. Whatever you do, I would not run any shock at full stiff on the rear! On my street GTV, I run reds all the way around with a "sport" spring set. The rears are set close to full soft, the fronts at about mid-way through the adjustment. The car handles very well on the street and track.

Erik

#8 ·
Depends on the springs. With a normal Koni you can only change rebound and I absolutly agree on the comments that a 105 a shock absorber should be set to full soft in the back and
if you opt for yellow they must at the front and the red ones at the back.