I'd like your thoughts... - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-01-2013, 10:59 AM Thread Starter
Gold Subscriber

Garage
I'd like your thoughts...

I'm not real good at explaining but here goes. I've been chasing a weird running issue for a few months. Not serious, just annoying. Sometimes the car will stumble at lower revs under load, kinda like points being out of adjustment. Idles great. runs like a train at speed, great gas mileage. 2 things I notice. One the first cold start of the day, it pops mildly in the plenum and the exhaust smells rich.

New plugs, wires, coils, caps, rotors, (2 each as its a twinspark), coolant temp sensor. Car runs btter with each addition and the parts were original so no harm replacing. Tonite I was reading the owners book and noted the spark plug wires and compared to how mine are and got to thinking, maybe I have two switched. Bear in mind the car runs great. In the pic you can see the dizzy on the left feeds the plugs on the left of each cylinder. Except the 2nd and 3d ones from the left. I reversed them to better align with the illustration in the book. Car runs great in my driveway but I've not driven it as its foggy out tonite. In all'ya'll's (yes this is a word) collective thoughts, could this have been the source of my problem?
Attached Images

Maintaining my tenuous strain on reality.
89 164 2l Twin Spark, 2011 Tonka Dump

Recently added: an 89 75 (Milano) 1.6 litre w/44K on the klok.

Past loves:
79 Alfetta GTV w/Spica, my 1st Alfa

An 88 Graduate. Not really love but interesting nonetheless.

A 68 BMW 1602 - man do I regret letting that one go!

79 Scirroco, ex plowed into an illegally parked house with it...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-01-2013, 11:34 AM
Trained (ex)Professional

1953-2018 RIP

Platinum SubscriberAdministrator