So Mad! even if I am a female novice with a 88 Spider - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-26-2009, 11:37 AM Thread Starter

So Mad! even if I am a female novice with a 88 Spider

Here is my story and I hope you all will join my frustration and help me out. I am so mad I can barely take it.

1. Ticking sound in my Spider.
2. Checked valve clearances with feeler guage. Exhaust valve No. 4 cylinder is .020. No. 3 is .0185, No. 2 is .019 and No. 1 is .019 Intake remaining are .018. (.0157 through .0177 is intake spec right? according to book. Exhaust is .0177 to .0197 according to book.
3. Alfa Parts shop here in California says my clearances are just fine and NOT the cause of my ticking. I do NOT buy any tappets.
4. So we time it perfectly to the shop manual I am using every step of the way.
5. I find the exhaust gaskets are leaking and therefore replace EVERY one perfectly. Previously the gaskets were installed upside down.
6. Put everything back perfectly.
7. Start the car.
8. Ticks!
Did I get poor advice on my clearances/tolerances???

what the heck is wrong?? Why didn't I buy tappets?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-26-2009, 11:54 AM
Gold Subscriber

Garage
What the weight of your oil. If not 20/50 change it.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-26-2009, 12:07 PM
1966-2013
Platinum Subscriber

The clearances are fine.

How ticky is it?

There's a certain amount of mechanical noise inherant with the design meaning it's never going to idle as quietly as a cam hydraulic cam system.

What you more or less should be hearing at hot idle is a whirring very rythmic ticking simular to what a clicky-pen makes when you work it. Louder of course, but none the less, a simular type sound. Kinda like a sewing machine with a tick actually. (there's a few youtube videos that give good representation of the correct sound if you wanted to poke around there for a reference)