1979 Dead ignition - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 04-15-2017, 07:27 PM Thread Starter
Gold Subscriber

Garage
Unhappy 1979 Dead ignition

So this is my first post, and I'm a novice. Double wammy.

Purchased a 79 Spider which started and ran well. Noticed a toggle under the dash and made the very poor decision to switch the toggle while in the "start" position. Power went dead in the "start" position but the "run" position was still hot. Gauges and lights on, power to the fuel pump. Then I went searching and found out the toggle was installed to interrupt the line between the CSS and the starter solenoid. Being a novice, I replaced the starter/solenoid but still no luck. Still power in the "run" position but nothing in the "start" position. Got a wiring diagram from PapaJam specific for the 79 with the SPICA injection system.

Checked power on the ignition lead at the starter which indicated that the ignition switch was likely the problem. Ordered a new ignition switch from Centerline and pole 16 (to the starter coil) was not present on the new switch. Called Centerline and they suggested combining the green wire and the black wire onto post 30 (the correct placement for the ignition switch). Tried this with no luck, and the gauges didn't work. Disconnected the green wire (to the coil) and at least got power in the "run" position again.