Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1750 GTV weber 40doce quick throttle stumble

4K views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  slowcreek 
#1 ·
Hi everyone, been having a stumbling problem on my 1750 GTV with dual weber 40 doce. It's a quick thottle jab type issue where the motor will stumble and almost die. It comes off idle fine if slowly applying throttle but if giving a quick jab like pulling away on a hill it almost dies. I believe its generally running rich as the plugs are blackened (no thick deposits and not oily) but it doesn't seem to get enough fuel off idle. The idle jets are 50f6's. I read in another thread about someone going from 50f8s to 60 or 65f8s solving the bucking / stumble off idle.

How do I properly identify if I need leaner or richer idle jets? Does this sound like an issue with the idle jet or possibly the pump jet (accelerator pump) as it quick stab of throttle?

Thanks in advance and I will try to follow up with as much info as needed. Im new to carbs and don't really know what other info is needed to identify this issue im having.

#2 ·
F6 is like the richest you can go on air corrector for the idle jet, and that's likely your problem. The F numbers are not sequential.

What have you done with your engine? If it's a near-stock 1750 you should be running 50F8. I've got a pretty-stock 1750 with dual DCOEs and the stock Alfa jetting with 32 venturis works pretty well. See here:

https://centerlinealfa.com/sites/centerlinealfa.com/assets/files/default/weber_jet.pdf

Note that this also assumes you've got the older Webers and not the emissions models. What's the code on them?

#4 ·
F6 is like the richest you can go on air corrector for the idle jet, and that's likely your problem. The F numbers are not sequential.

What have you done with your engine? If it's a near-stock 1750 you should be running 50F8. I've got a pretty-stock 1750 with dual DCOEs and the stock Alfa jetting with 32 venturis works pretty well.