New (To me) 1984 Spyder 2.0 - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By ghnl

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-15-2017, 07:34 AM Thread Starter

Talking New (To me) 1984 Spyder 2.0

Ok, so I had a 1980 spider years ago...it went with the divorce, I miss the car not the ex. So I happened into a guy that had a 1984 Spyder 2.0 but had no idea what he had (I only had a general idea). I of course couldn't get my wallet out fast enough to buy the car when he said he was going to scrap it. This is a rescue and I know that I have a lot to learn, a lot to fix. I'm just sort of relearning all the goodness that is Alfa Romeo. The problem, I have no idea what the PO has done (or not done) and this is my first PROJECT car.

I need all the help that I can get. I'm told this thing sat for 20 years.

I have a starting problem. I replaced the tank, sending unit, in tank fuel pump, fuel relay, primary fuel pump and filter and replaced every fuse I found in the fuse box. I believe that I am getting fuel to the injectors. I can get it to run as long as I'm spraying starter fluid into the air intake but as soon as I stop spraying it shuts off. Now anyone who has been in my shoes knows the absolute thrill of hearing that thing fire up for the first time BUT I want to drive this thing. As a matter of process I'm replacing every hose/rubber line I can find. I'm considering injector replacement but wanted to insure that was the problem before I moved forward with that.

What am I missing? My prior Alfa didn't have the ECU, how do I know/tell if its L-Jet or Motronic (I'm guessing its Motronic)? How do I validate that the ECU is properly functioning?

Generally speaking I think most of it is there and only minimal rust (here in the Northeast that is something of a miracle).