Paint shade/hue darkener? - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-23-2004, 09:01 PM Thread Starter
Gold Subscriber

Paint shade/hue darkener?

What follows may sound like an off the wall question so please forgive my ignorance. Has anyone ever heard of chemical substance that is relatively easy to apply and that can acctually restore the not only the luster but the shade to faided paint(in this case red paint that is "dead") to make the hue a closer match other adjacent areas of the car that didn't get as much exposure to the elements?

Perhaps some kind of a dye for the paint? Short of a complete re-finishing is there such a thing available? Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-23-2004, 10:26 PM

Thumbs down

I've been painting for over twenty years and have never seen one of these so called restoring creams actually work. Good luck from Clayman
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-24-2004, 09:07 AM Thread Starter
Gold Subscriber

Thanks Clayman...

...this is what I thought. On a different note and while I have your attention; In your automotive painting do you use a single stage or two stage paint "system"? The reason I ask this question is it appears that most of the two stage paints seem to come out with a glossier, deeper finish as compared to the OEM look for most older Italian cars.

May be this is just my imagination, but on a lot of these "over the top" resto jobs the paint acutally looks too good, which is OK with me but for some it is not the real original look they might be after. BTW: I am not refering to what is called patina.