Installing Alpine Head Unit in Alfetta - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-25-2016, 12:09 AM Thread Starter
Gold Subscriber

Installing Alpine Head Unit in Alfetta

I'm replacing the Pioneer Radio/Casette deck that came with my Alfetta with a modern single-din head unit from Alpine, the CDE-HD148BT. This is my first time trying to install a car stereo, so I have no clue what I'm doing.

I was able to remove the Pioneer, and I'm now trying to make sense of all the wires. Aside from the speaker wires, there are two additional wires: an orange and a red wire. The red wire has an in-line spring-loaded 2A fuse, and the orange has an in-line spring-loaded 0.5A fuse. Both red and orange have constant power and are not tied to the ignition (that was also how the Pioneer worked... it would run even with car off). I traced the wires back as far as I could, and they're actually spliced together. Looks like the orange wire is spliced into the red wire.

Now for the questions...

1. Why are the orange and red wires together?? Is that bad? And why are they using two different types of fuses?

2. Should I connect my new Alpine to the orange and red wires? I could connect the battery lead and the switched power lead?

3. Do I need in-line spring-loaded fuses? I noticed there's a 10A fuse holder in the back of the Alpine Head Unit... does that mean I don't need other fuses?

4. If I do need in-line spring-loaded fuses, what amperage? 10A? 15A? Seems like the existing 2A and 0.5A fuses are not going to work.

5. Seeing as I don't know where this red and orange wire are coming from, would it be better to start with a new clean wire from the fuse box or from the battery?? I'm concerned about overloading that wire.

Any help would be appreciated.

Some photos of the wires....

'79 Alfetta GT Sprint Veloce (Avorio)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-18-2016, 11:06 AM

Garage