Are Alfetta sedans the next, next big thing? - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums
 13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 216 (permalink) Old 10-13-2013, 09:42 PM Thread Starter

Are Alfetta sedans the next, next big thing?

A few months ago we had a thread going in which we discussed Berlinas as viable future competitor for the popularity of our beloved Supers and TIs. Today I was reading an article in Thoroughbred and Classic Cars which was very complimentary about Alfetta sedans. To my knowledge this is the first time a major publication has said anything that was other than critical of these often orphaned Alfas.

Having driven an Alfetta sedan for several years as a daily driver, I can say that they make rather pleasant Alfas to drive. Although I don't like the Alfettas as much as I do the front 105 based sedans, the cars have a number of good qualities that definitely take them out of the mundane econo-box category of throw-away 70's cars. As the article pointed out, the De-Deon rear suspension is marvelous, the cabin airy and comfortable, the engine both willing and a cut above the competition.

So do you think Alfetta sedans might ever become sought-after Alfa sedans? Do the car's good qualities overcome the negatives (the floppy gear change, finicky driveshaft donuts, and rust) to allow it to become a sought-after Alfa?

Personally, I think a 1st series Alfetta sedan with a hot-rod twin-spark, setup suspension, and stiffened Shankle shift rod would make a pretty cool Alfa. Although, in all honesty, I don't think I'd abandon my Super for one.

Jim . . . '72 Super 1300, '70, 1750GTV, 2nd series,
'62, Lancia Flaminia Zagato3c, 2nd series

Last edited by 180OUT; 10-13-2013 at 09:44 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 216 (permalink) Old 10-13-2013, 10:48 PM
But Mad North-Northwest
Platinum Subscriber

Short answer: no.

Long answer: noooooo.

Tom

1963 Giulia Spider (1750 engine)
1974 GTV
1991 Spider
Former: 1987 Milano Gold