Wanted Info on 74 GTV - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-09-2009, 02:08 PM Thread Starter

Info on 74 GTV

Hello all. I'm a newbie to this BB, looking to jump into Alfa ownership with a GTV driver. I'm wondering if anyone knows either (a) anything about this car listed on Craigslist (Alfa Romeo 1974 GTV 2000) or (b) how I could contact its two previous owners: Italiar79 or Velocess. The car was listed for sale twice on this bulletin board, in 2007 by Velocess, and in 2008 by Italiar79. Now its for sale again. To a neophyte like me, that seems like some quick turnovers and a reason for concern. Also of concern is that the current owner is using pictures from the Italiar79's post. Any help or thoughts would be appreciated. As an aside: What an incredible amount of information is available on this site.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-09-2009, 07:00 PM

Couple observations from the ad:

"Salvage title due to rear end damage" = WARNING LIGHTS FLASHING... pre-purchase inspection MANDATORY. Resale will always be "iffy" at best with a salvage title no matter how much $$$ is invested.

Engine bay not painted = original color???

If your PPI turns out ok and all you really want is a low budget daily driver then go for it. If you need to sink in $5-10K (really easy to do) and expect your money back... good luck.

Please do your research on this website and "buy the nicest GTV you can afford". There are "really nice" GTVs available for WAY less than the cost that went into them to make them "really nice". You will come out way ahead if you have patience and let your head rule your heart.

Gone but not forgotten:
1970 GTV 1750 S2
1967 Giulia Super

Last edited by fangio8c; 12-09-2009 at 07:03 PM.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-09-2009, 07:15 PM Thread Starter

Thanks, fangio8c. I agree completely.