Alfa Romeo Forums banner

Milano Verde Timing Belt Fall Apart

5K views 21 replies 9 participants last post by  archeologist 
#1 ·
I have been driving my Milano Verde since 1988 and replaced timing belts every 50K miles. I rebuilt the engine at 180K and drove another 70K miles until last week when the timing belt fall apart. The intake valves are all bent and the tappets are damaged. The second intake valve shim was sheered in half! I am going to see if the connecting rods are straight and also look at the rod bearings. I have never seen a belt fall apart. I do not like rubber timing belt engines and will never buy another car with rubber timing belts. I am glad that the engine did not throw a rod.

#2 ·
Assuming it was manufactured properly, there are two things that'll make a timing belt fall apart: age and oil exposure. I wouldn't trust the rubber for more than five years max, and preferably shorter (I think I used to do 3 years or 30K on my Milano but don't really remember.)

The oil fed tensioner was a big problem, as it would leak on the belt and then cause belt failure. That was the main reason Alfa switched to the mechanical tensioner. On higher-mileage cars, the cam seals can be problematic too. Anything that gets oil on the belt is going to badly weaken it.

#4 ·
I probably had no more than 30K miles on the belt and all of the teeth fell off but, the belt is more than five years old. The engine has used a mechanical 164 tensioner that was replaced when the engine was rebuilt. The car has be driven for 248K miles and has been used for a daily driver for many years. I also have a Milano Silver that I used for more than 70K miles. The two cars have a combined total of more than 320K miles and cannot complain at all. I plan to buy a Giulia QV Coupe but, will settle for a Giulia QV if the coupe is not built. I want the ceramic brakes because the Milano's brakes were not good.

#6 · (Edited)