Alfa Romeo Forums banner

Duetto '67 with S2 VIN

2K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  Malfa1750 
#1 ·
Hi All,
Just bought my third Alfa.....my first ever car was a 1.5 Super Sud bought in '85 which I loved....I blew a head gasket on it which screwed the engine so had it replaced with a 1.3ti lump and that was a lovely handling bit of kit........blew that up too though so the affair was over.....until 3 years ago when I saw a very tired looking S3 spider for sale and thought 'weekend car' .....I'm a transport manager so spoke with the body shop I use and after a fair bit of umming and ahhhring they agreed to take it on.....after many phone calls to Classic Alfa and Alfa Mick (I'm sure we all know an Alfa Mick or Dave or John?), parts were gathered and fitted, credit cards were stretched and my second affair was well on it's way and has been particularly great this year as I'm on Gardening leave this summer so have been all over the UK in her.......Now to the crux of this post, my head was recently turned by an ad for a Duetto Spider project.......yes that one....I saw that the V5 was wrong and that the VIN is wrong too but, the fact is, the car feels right.......I bought the car for a great price for a '67 project or a slightly high price for a '76 S2. I've had it looked at by my body shop and they are not phased by what they see. They think the welding is solid but unfinished....there are issues and more will, no doubt, arise.....I called Classic Alfa and ordered panels and work will commence over the next month or two.

Regarding the V5 issues my first step will be to contact the DVLA and have the engine cc corrected as it is a 1750

I have contacted Italy to get the definitive answer on what the VIN in the car shows in their records.....my hope is it's a quirk of Italian origin, my expectation is it's listed as a Series 2 2000 in Prototype Yellow.....we'll see.