Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1900C SS Tipo IV restoration (once more with feeling)

79K views 736 replies 29 participants last post by  alfa_corsa 
#1 · (Edited)
1900C SS Series II (once more with feeling)

Ciao Alfisti!

Some of you may recall my 57 Tipo IV, #10321, which I've been working to restore for close to 6 years now. The front end was badly damaged and the first "shop" I sent her was a very bad choice indeed. I sent her to another supposed talented fabricator/restorer and while no harm was inflicted up on her (indeed, very little work was performed past the beginning of wooden buck, the car sat for almost three years and I was charged a lot of money. It was obvious she would never be completed at this place, so I took her back and today, delivered her to a third restorer in Southern California who has some experience with Tipo IVs and who has performed some very high quality restorations in the past.

I am hoping that she will finally get the attention she deserves.

I will hopefully be posting positive updates and photos in the coming weeks and months.

Ciao!
-tj in the Cruz Mtns

#2 ·
TJ....

Body shops teach us a muddy mixture of patience, resolve, and the need for a quick decision when the evidence is convincing that it's a lost cause.

#3 ·
Don,

I don't disagree. I will admit to have misinterpreted (I think, I hope) your message when I first read it. I assume you mean that the shop itself is a lost cause, and not the car itself.

-tj

#5 ·