
05-01-2005, 08:04 AM
|
 |
Dan Walker
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prescott Arizona
Posts: 585
|
|
|
Scam on eBay????
I saw this SS on eBay for $9000 buy it now and it looked too good to be true- turns out the seller, oldtimer_red in Georgia knows nothing about the car or how it got on eBay under his name- the guy who wants you to email him directly is in England, and when I wrote him, he wrote back and only wants a $3000 deposit sent to him to confirm the deal, will ship the car (museum quality according to his description) to my door (included in the $9000 price!) and I can pay the balance when the car is delivered. What a deal! Anyway, the link to eBay is below, and I've decided not to send the required $3000 to the seller in England. Call me a skeptic- If this turns out to be a real deal, I may end up regretting this!  Dan Walker
eBy link:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...546886632&rd=1
|

05-01-2005, 08:19 AM
|
|
|
|
Looks fishy to me too. When in doubt, forward it to the eBay security department with a note of your perspective. That's what makes and keeps eBay a safe place to do business IMO.
|

05-01-2005, 08:19 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Timonium, MD & St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4,165
|
|
|
Oh yeah that's a scam, Dan!!! ALL the clues are there! Please let E-Bay know about the scam.
__________________
Cheers,
Alex Csank
Chair, Alfa Century 2010 - The AROC USA ALFA Centennial Convention
E-mail: alfaromeodriveralex@gmail.com or alfacentury2010@gmail.com
Mobile: (757) 636-9513
82 Spider Veloce (Desideria - Kathleen's)
84 GTV6 Maratona (Mona - resto project)
88 Milano Verde (Trogdor The Burninator)
"My name is Alex and I am an Alfaholic."
Alfisti are always welcome in our home!
|

05-01-2005, 08:43 AM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 513
|
|
This looks like the same ss (and the same pics) that was on ebay a few weeks back. Something wierd is definetely going on. Either someone has stolen this guys i.d. or he's gone off the deep end.
--Dave
|

05-01-2005, 08:44 AM
|
 |
with the Librarian
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 7,539
|
|
|
Although a possible typo, the chassis number is reason for suspicion. It has one too many digits. And if one were to drop the last 9, Fusi puts it as a 1963.
__________________
Jim
Series 1 Euro 1750 GTV
Series 2 US 1750 GTV
Series 3 Spider Veloce
|

05-01-2005, 08:44 AM
|
 |
Registered User
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 643
|
|
|
Report this immediately to eBay and have them remove the auction. NOW!
__________________
Azzurro, e troppo lungo il giorno per me...
|

05-01-2005, 08:51 AM
|
 |
Registered User
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 643
|
|
Quote:
|
My eBay "Ask Seller A Question" is slow and dosent deliver your emails in time. So in order to get a fast ANSWER EMAIL ME DIRECTY AT
|
: snodomainbike54@yahoo.com
Riiiggghhhttt....
OK looks like the seller already reported this.
__________________
Azzurro, e troppo lungo il giorno per me...
|

05-01-2005, 09:40 AM
|
 |
Registered User
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 112
|
|
|
...
AND on the Bottom of the listing, the owner of the ID says "This is not my car" !!!!
|

05-01-2005, 10:57 AM
|
 |
Alfa Poor in KY
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mount Sterling, KY
Posts: 3,814
|
|
|
It's gone. I reported it too.
Best Regards,
John M
__________________
1978 AR Spider Veloce 2000.....the first and still here
1984 AR Spider Veloce............the second & gone to the parts bin
1992 AR Spider Veloce............the third and still here
1991 AR 164L........................traded on the SS
1965 AR Sprint Speciale..........in boxes.
|

05-01-2005, 12:41 PM
|
 |
Dan Walker
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prescott Arizona
Posts: 585
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by John M
It's gone. I reported it too.
Best Regards,
John M
|
Cool- there never seems to be any shortage of ingenious types out there trying (and sometimes succeeding) in outsmarting the system. I hope no one sent any money to this guy- it's disturbing that this person was able to hijack a legitimate sellers ID (with over 500 transactions, 100% positive feedback) and put out something that a true Alfisti would die for! $9000 for a museum quality SS, including shipping from England, no less! Ahh, a boy can dream, but reality is reality- lets all keep vigilant and keep looking out for each other- thanks for the responses from all! Dan
|

05-05-2005, 11:23 PM
|
 |
Registered User
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,079
|
|
|
How much does a mint SS go for in the States these days anyways?? I was thinking over $60,000 at least?
__________________
[COLOR="Red"]'74 105 GTV 2000 - Resto project[/COLOR]
[COLOR="RoyalBlue"]'73 Datsun 1200 - 340HP CA18DET[/COLOR]
|

05-06-2005, 04:16 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Timonium, MD & St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4,165
|
|
|
No, actually you can buy an SS in good nick for about $20-$30K. Of course a trailer-queen, perfect low mileage Giulia SS with a great history might bring a few more bucks than that.
I sold a Giulia SS (restoration project, but it was ALL there and not badly rusted) for $4500 a couple of years ago.
__________________
Cheers,
Alex Csank
Chair, Alfa Century 2010 - The AROC USA ALFA Centennial Convention
E-mail: alfaromeodriveralex@gmail.com or alfacentury2010@gmail.com
Mobile: (757) 636-9513
82 Spider Veloce (Desideria - Kathleen's)
84 GTV6 Maratona (Mona - resto project)
88 Milano Verde (Trogdor The Burninator)
"My name is Alex and I am an Alfaholic."
Alfisti are always welcome in our home!
|

05-06-2005, 08:10 AM
|
 |
Registered User
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SE Bama
Posts: 1,526
|
|
There's one born every minute.  Where do I send the check? Just kidding.
|

05-06-2005, 09:55 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Summerville, South Carolina
Posts: 429
|
|
|
One day while browsing on eBay for vintage BMW motorcycles, I noticed one of my very own bikes for sell. The seller had lifted the description and picture right off my website. I contacted all the bidders and eBay. The auction actually ended with a winner that bid at the last minute, but I was able to contact him as well. A couple days later, the con's eBay ID was dead. It was fun taunting the fraudulent seller for a few days but I finally gave it up. Some folks have no values.
__________________
Dale Thomas
1969 1750 GTV (Giallo Ocra)
Summerville, South Carolina
|

05-09-2005, 03:37 PM
|
 |
Registered User
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 524
|
|
|
This raises an interesting question, how do you know what you are buying from e-bay when its just from a few average quality photos of the areas of a car that aren't the really critical ones!?
Has anyone here been brave enough to buy a car on e-bay without actually seeing it?!
I couldn't bring myself to buying from e-bay... unless someone can shed some major light and sense on the situation!
__________________
[COLOR=Blue][URL]www.alfaholics.com[/URL][/COLOR]
1966 2.0 Sprint GT race car, 1967 T/S GTA Replica, 1965 FIA App.K 1600 GTA, 1965 1600 GTA Stradale RHD, 1965 1600 GTA Stradale LHD, 1966 1600 Giulia GTC, 1991 S4 Spider, 1967 1600 Duetto, 1999 2.0 916GTV (soon to be sold!) and now replaced with 2002 3.0 V6 24v 916 GTV
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|