Alfa Romeo Forums banner

Alfa 147 Lighting Failures

20K views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  d92eyj 
#1 ·
Hi all, hoping you can help me here!

I am the proud owner of an Alfa Romeo 147 1.6 Lusso, for the last 4 months. I have recently been experiencing a few lighting failures,

1. My left sidelight failed, 2 minutes later my right sidelight failed. I was able to change the right light easily, but the left sidelight bulb was unable to be removed as the plastic bulb holder was snapped when I bought the car. I have been driving for the last 2 months without a left sidelight.

2. My right brake light failed, which I quickly replaced. I had been driving for 5 miles with my new brake light, when the car notified me that a brake light had failed - I pulled over and closer examination showed that my right brake light & tail light had went - the same one that I had replaced earlier!

3. Without having a spare bulb in the car to change over to, I was left with no choice but to drive on with the failed lights. As soon as I drove off, the car gave me a warning that my right side light had failed!! So I currently have no sidelights, no RHS tail light and no RHS brake light!!!

Can anyone tell me why this is happening?? Is there more power going to my other lights when I have one out?? I am going to book the car in to an auto electrician to get this checked out, but hopefully one of you guys can help!!

Many thanks in advance.

See less See more
#3 ·
Yeah, don't worry about it TOO much because it's likely to continue. I have it happen all the time. I've replaced my xenons, all 3 fog lights, and other bulbs too. Once it was due to voltage issues when my alternator was on the fritz...other times it was just kind of routine....haha.

Sorry I couldn't be of much help, but if it's any consolation, it happens to most of us...and even sometimes...the bulbs come back on even though they should be tight as they had been just replaced....odd.

#4 ·
Blown Bulbs