Alfa Romeo Forums banner

73 GTV Buildup

91K views 358 replies 40 participants last post by  GTV4EVR 
#1 ·
Afternoon,

I thought i'd start a thread about my GTV buildup. I took delivery of the car on saturday and everything arrived as planned, as promised! (thanks John!) It was a bit nerve racking taking the car off the top of the carrier with a forklift (props Rich). Sorry, no pics of that.

After getting everything home and unpacked the first thing i realized was that there are no directions! Must've gotten lost on the journey from the west coast. My basic plan is to build this car as era correct as possible so that eventually ('10?) i can take it vintage racing. This is my first time building a GTV but I think this car makes a good starting point due to the amount of knowledge and parts availability out there. I also considered 944's, MG's, or even another Austin Healey. My last race car (AH-100) was not the best starting pt, but that was more due to the particular car i chose as it had a 58 corvette drivetrain implanted into it!

I'm hoping to use BB to ask for advice/updates etc while i move forward. I've already been in touch with a few shops, racers and other alfista's while putting together my build plan, but i'm sure it will evolve with time. As with most, i'm on a limited budget and will be a bit constrained with my intent to keep this car street legal, but it's doable. Speaking of which, i know of a few good sites for race parts (new and used) but if anyone out in alfaland is looking to sell any 105 race parts..let me know! A basic list of what i'm gonna try to start accumulating is...wheels, susp parts, seats, cage, cell, header etc...

Here's the car as it arrived and now put away in my (far too little) garage.

First step, get it up off the suspension and finish stripping the car!.....

Attachments

See less See more
#4 ·