
04-01-2008, 04:37 PM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 3,068
|
|
|
1960 giulietta - why so cheap?
__________________
1992 alfa romeo spider veloce, 19k miles
2000 saab 9-3 coupe, 20k miles
|

04-01-2008, 04:43 PM
|
 |
Registered User
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 625
|
|
|
Buy it now for $9k? No way. Something's very fishy with this one. I wouldn't touch this one. Probably not his car.
Steve S.
Seattle, WA
Last edited by borrani; 04-01-2008 at 06:50 PM.
|

04-01-2008, 04:49 PM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 3,068
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by borrani
But it now for $9k? No way. Something's very fishy with this one. I wouldn't touch this one. Probably not his car.
Steve S.
Seattle, WA
|
there is no way - right?
has to be a scam?
__________________
1992 alfa romeo spider veloce, 19k miles
2000 saab 9-3 coupe, 20k miles
|

04-01-2008, 04:50 PM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, TX , USA
Posts: 2,287
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by borrani
Probably not his car.
Steve S.
Seattle, WA
|
right...ask if you can come see it......
__________________
Peter
Currently:
'67 Duetto
'69 Euro 1750 GTV
Previously:
'76 Alfasud Ti/'75 GT Junior/'87 Alfa 33
'91 Alfa 75/'95 Alfa 164/'79 Alfa Spider
|

04-01-2008, 05:02 PM
|
 |
Registered User
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 291
|
|
|
I smell a rat, too. I'd set a BIN at ~$30,000 for a 750 Veloce, maybe more. I'm watching this one.
Mike Hollinger
Atlanta
__________________
'60 Giulietta spider, '67 GTV, '02 S2000
|

04-01-2008, 05:14 PM
|
 |
Registered User
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: BOYNTON BEACH, FL
Posts: 482
|
|
|
We're discussing this very same Alfa in the next-thread-down: "Anyone Know This Spider Veloce???". I started it.
Regards.
|

04-01-2008, 06:55 PM
|
 |
George in Portland, OR
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 279
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by slam105
We're discussing this very same Alfa in the next-thread-down: "Anyone Know This Spider Veloce???". I started it.
Regards.
|
It's been pulled!!! This car has been seen on ebay before as I recall and it was a scam then too.
Cheers,
George
|

04-01-2008, 07:02 PM
|
 |
Registered User
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 625
|
|
|
Once again, as the saying goes: "if it looks too good to be true, it probably is".
Ciao!
Steve S.
|

04-02-2008, 11:36 AM
|
|
Registered User
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: East Bay, SF Bay Area
Posts: 100
|
|
|
Hopefully these scam artists won't get smart and actually put a price on these fake auctions that looks more correct. Oops, don't want to give them any ideas.
|

04-02-2008, 11:45 AM
|
 |
In the Spider's Nest
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nutley/NJ & Middletown/OH, USA
Posts: 4,947
|
|
|
Nothing new - they already do place market correct prices, as well as advertise with incredibly low prices... They play it from all angles. Still, even if the buy-it-now price is market correct, one should not send any money without seeing the car, and checking that the title and seller are legit...
Best regards,
__________________
Enrique
Spider 74, 84 & 87
164 93L & 95Q
Milano 88 Verde
|

04-02-2008, 07:51 PM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 3,068
|
|
|
this is what the seller sent me:
Hello,
I am glad to hear that you are interested about my 1960 Alfa Romeo Spider Veloce .The car is in perfect condition inside and outside,without any scratches or other mechanical problems.The car has never been wrecked,damaged,scratched or has had any leaks.It comes with all the books, records,receipts, extra keys,tools...Also it will come with a clear title, bill of sale signed by me and all the papers that you will need.The problem is that I had to move to Porto, Portugal where I got a new job transfer.I brought the car here with me but when I found out about the very high import duties and all the restrictions regarding registration here I've changed my mind and I've decided to sell the vehicle.I want to sell it in US because is still registered there.So the vehicle will be shipped from Portugal directly to your door and the price I`m looking to obtain for the car is $9,000.I want to take this opportunity to assure you that this deal is 100% legitimate,the financial part of this deal will be manage by eBay,in this way both of us will be protected.Due to this large amount involved in this transaction I choose eBay to cover this transaction through the eBay Standard Vehicle Purchase Protection Program.
I`m also in a hurry to get a quick deal since I`m passing through a divorce with my wife and we need to get rid of the unit fast.So if you really want it please reply me as soon as possible.
Thank you,
Tony Harrison
Hello,
Good faith has always been my top priority and my most valued business approach.Payment will be done by bank wire transfer and will be supervised by Ebay through their Standard Vehicle Purchase Protection Program .Total cost with shipping included is $9,000,no other taxes or hidden fees.First you will have to transfer the money to ebay.They will keep the payment until you receive and test the car.As soon as I have the confirmation from ebay that they have received the money,I will start the shipping procedure.After you receive and inspect the car,if you are satisfied with it,you will have to send a confirmation email to ebay and tell them that everything it`s ok.Then ebay will transfer the money to me.If the unit is not in the condition as described and/or documents are not legitimate, and/or for any reason you are not satisfied with the car, ebay will refund you 100% .As you see eBay is acting like a third party in this transaction .They will keep the money until you receive and inspect the car.Please take into consideration that I will get paid only upon satisfactory inspection of both the car and the related legal documents.
If you agree with these terms and you have the money, send me your full name and the address where you want the car to be shipped and i will be more than glad to start to complete the transaction with you.As soon as you will send me your personal details ( full name and shipping address) I will contact Ebay and they will email you all the details regarding this transaction.
My best wishes and I'm waiting your response so we can move forward with this deal,
Thank you.
Tony.
__________________
1992 alfa romeo spider veloce, 19k miles
2000 saab 9-3 coupe, 20k miles
|

04-02-2008, 10:15 PM
|
 |
Registered User
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: BOYNTON BEACH, FL
Posts: 482
|
|
|
lgbalfa:
The 'letter' you received could be the best-con I've seen in a long time! As you read it you know it's a scam, but it's so good it's tough to put your finger on what's wrong---that's the beauty of it! I don't really know how "Tony" is going to get-the-money, but I DO know he's going to get it!
Regards.
|

04-03-2008, 08:45 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 3,068
|
|
|
here is another one:
Hello,
Here are the pictures.You will not find the car on ebay anymore because a buyer was not serious,he put me to remove the ad telling that we have a deal and when he shoud make the payment via bank wire transfer he changed his mind.If you are decided and want to go forward,send me your full name and full shipping address ( where you want to receive the car ) to initiate the transaction with ebay and they will contact you with all info you need regarding shipping and payment instructions.
Looking forward for your decision and if you have any questions please feel free to ask.
Thank you,
Tony.
__________________
1992 alfa romeo spider veloce, 19k miles
2000 saab 9-3 coupe, 20k miles
|

04-03-2008, 08:55 AM
|
 |
Registered User
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: BOYNTON BEACH, FL
Posts: 482
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by lgbalfa
here is another one:
Hello,
.....Here are the pictures.You will not find the car on ebay anymore because a buyer was not serious,he put me to remove the ad telling that we have a deal and when he shoud make the payment via bank wire transfer he changed his mind.....
Thank you,
Tony.
|
If I recall correctly, Zunige/Enrique, contacted eBay & had them remove-the-listing for being 'a crock'.....THIS is the 1st. 'real lie' I could find in this 'con'!
Regards
|

04-03-2008, 09:07 AM
|
 |
In the Spider's Nest
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nutley/NJ & Middletown/OH, USA
Posts: 4,947
|
|
|
Yes, I did report the listing to ebay, and it was removed within minutes... It should be noted that when an auction ends, even if it is terminated early, it remains on ebay for 90 days and can be located as a "completed listing". When it is a scam, there is no record that is available for viewing.
The e-mails that lgbalfa is receiving are typical... In fact, I have received the very same ones, from different "sellers". Of course, ebay never arranges payments, much less if there is no active auction (!), but there must be people who send in a small deposit, since these scammers have been using this exact technique, and the same e-mails, for several years...
I think that the best thing to do is to just report them to ebay, as soon as we see the scam. Sometimes the scam has been listed for no more than a few minutes, when someone files a report, and ebay takes it down in minutes. This has to drive the scammer crazy...
Best regards,
__________________
Enrique
Spider 74, 84 & 87
164 93L & 95Q
Milano 88 Verde
|
|