Just picked up a 1960 Veloce Spider barn find. Now what? - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-22-2014, 05:49 AM Thread Starter

Send a message via AIM to M635dude
Just picked up a 1960 Veloce Spider barn find. Now what?

Well, technically it was a field find

This car has been owned by a family friend for the last 35+ years. I believe that once the car was purchased new, it was immediately turned into a race car. He was a tinkerer and over the years had the car apart like this multiple times. About 15-20 years ago though, it was taken apart and never put back together. It sat inside a garage for that time, but then has sat out in a field for the last 4 years. Once I saw the car, I just needed to get it out of the **** field to try and save this little guy.

My issue now is that I really don't have the liquidity to take on a full restoration like this. I'm a mechanic by trade and I'm a certified welder + fabricator in all types of welding, but I've never welded on a car like this before. Fortunately, the car comes with most all of her parts. The big thing that is missing are bumpers, and I believe the carbs. I still have to pick up the motor and trans plus some other misc items so I'm not quite sure what I will find with them.

My biggest question is, what would be a typical cost to have the car sent out and have the underside of the car replaced? I have seen worse that have been repaired, but unfortunately this one is still pretty bad in certain spots.