Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1971 1750 Berlina FI hard start

8K views 119 replies 10 participants last post by  max71 
#1 ·
Looking to help a friend with his Alfa. I have a lot of experience with carbs, not so much with FI.

Are there main culprits to check to cure hard starting? He says initial and all starts there after take quite a while. Rough running then warmed up - smooth. Rough at cold seems normal.

Suggestions are gratefully welcomed.

#3 ·
when set up right, they start easily, even in REALLY cold environment. does your friend have wes ingram's spica manual? he should, it will be the best money he spends on the car. when wrong, there is no simple magic bullet. works same as carb car - start at the beginning and work your way methodically through to the end. the worst thing, is since has been wrong for a long time, might have been subjected to any number of "short cuts" to compensate, try to find a quick fix. hard to predict what state is in now. verify everything - TDC, cam timing, ignition timing etc. then can look to the spica. simple stuff - make sure no air leaks. the manual has dimensional specs and trouble shooting guides.

#4 · (Edited)
Thanks so much for the reply barboncino!

I suspected as much. Here's my plan. All suggestions or critique is welcomed:

1. Check Ignition dwell (60?) and timing
2. Check Fuel pump pressure
3. Check Timing of the FI pump + checking specs. I would need to know the offset for this pump which I believe is in the PDF's he's given me. I'm interested to know how to check for the alignment marks.
4. Spark Plugs & gap if not the original style
5. Injectors checked and cleaned if necessary ( if possible)
6. I would check valve clearances but with overhead cams I'm not qualified

Will check to see if he has the Ingram manual

Appreciate your extremely knowledgeable suggestions.

#5 ·