Help w/ 40DCOEs - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

Old 11-01-2005, 05:07 PM

Help w/ 40DCOEs

Hoping for some help. I have been restoring a 74 Spider w/ Weber 40DCOEs and having trouble getting the car to run (idle or otherwise). Anyway, tonight, I found the car was running on the front 2 cylinders only! I assume this is a carb problem as it is simply not running on cylinders 3 & 4 at idle. I found this by pulling off the plug wires. The back carb is getting fuel because there is plenty of fuel in the bowl. Any ideas why the fuel is not getting to the cylinders? Thanks.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-02-2005, 11:48 AM

I am no expert, but I'd check to see if you have the carbs so far out of sync that it has the back carb almost shut down. I have seen this in other carbed Alfas before. When you pull the wires, the engine doesn't seem to be affected any more (in a bad way, that is) than if the wires are connected. Here is a link to a simple method for synchronizing the carbs: Shortcut to: http://www.teglerizer.com/dcoe/tweakingdcoes.htm Another way to do it is to remove all linkage from the carbs, turn out the idle screw till the throttle is closed, then hold the front carb closed and screw the sync screw down till it it just barely seats on the tab for the front carb. That isn't perfect, but it should be good enough to let the motor run.

I am assuming from your post that you have some firing on 3 and 4 above idle, is that true? Also, you mention that you have fuel in the bowl. Did you check to see if it is enough to cause the carb to operate? That article tells you how much you should have in the bowl. If it is low, perhaps the little screen filter is clogged up. Other possibilities might include the choke being stuck or trash in the idle circuit.

Hope my ramblings give you some ideas.

Good luck.