Last Years Concorso, beware. - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 01-24-2017, 01:10 PM Thread Starter

Last Years Concorso, beware.

Just an FYI for those of you who attend the Concorso Italiano in Monterey in August.

Last August I brought my '67 Duetto for the 50th anniversary of the marque, and at their request I placed my car the evening before the event to get the many Duettos set on the field for the event. (I have never done this the night before but did it at their urging). All went well initially and I left my car with a cover in place.

The next morning I arrived and I found it there with a dent and large scratch across the nose and a torn cover.

Now note this car is painted in lacquer and is a very original California car.

The powers that be acknowledged they knew about the damage and that it occurred during the evening sometime but did not know who exactly caused the damage. (either one of their staff or a vendor)
It was clear that it was hit by one of the utility golf car flatbeds based on the location, level and type of damage.

So despite acknowledging that this occurred under their watch and saying that they would contact their insurance carrier, nothing has been done to help me repair my auto by them.
Their insurance has denied coverage for this saying that "competition vehicles are not covered by the policy" It took them approximately 3 months to decide this.

The Concorso has taking no responsibility and refuses to repair my auto just suggesting that I file a claim with insurance and they can "subrogate' the claim to the Concorso's insurance.

The point of this post is to warn participants that if you bring a car to an event and it's damaged by someone related to the event, they very well may deny any coverage, and you're on your own.