Alfa Romeo Forums banner

Torque Wrench recommendations

5K views 12 replies 6 participants last post by  divotandtralee 
#1 · (Edited)
I am wanting to buy a torque wrench and while I have certainly learnt some useful things on the AlfaBB forum I am after some recommendations about torque wrenches available in Australia. I don't wish to spend more than $400-500 for a wrench as I will likely need two ratchet sizes 3/8 and 1/2.

I was thinking of Sidchrome Torque wrench 1/2” Drive, 40-200Nm (30-150 ft/lb) (Part No. 26915). They also sell a cheaper beam deflecting brand but this only has increments of 5LB ft.

Looking at my Alfa 1045 GTV manual I notice that the LB ft (Foot pounds) range on these cars goes from 1-5 or 2.5 to 101.2. I'm not a mechanic and will use the wrench once a month or so.

Thoughts/recommendations people?

#5 ·
The deflecting beam tension wrench has been around for at least 60 years that I know of and the best of these is probably the Warren and Brown Dual Signal (I still have one from 1950 though we use the digital mostly) and the dial type actually incorporates the same torsion flex principal with the dial to make it possibly slightly more accurate particularly for DIY or casual users. Gavin

#8 ·
In my opinion, you can get over wrapped into this question without actually improving your results.

First, get only beam-deflection wrenches. Click type wrenches are for limiting the torque value during initial installation, and should not be used for setting the final torque. As you will not be trying to achieve production-line speeds, skip the click wrench and get two beam types for setting the final torque.

I have used Sears "Craftsman" wrenches for years, and they consistently register within limits during periodic calibration checks. Buy two of them, one in 1/2' drive and one in 3/8" drive. I don't recall the ranges, but these will cover everything you will face. I also have a 1/4" drive unit, but I never use it.