#1 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2009, 08:04 PM
alfaparticle's Avatar
Senior Member
Gold Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbia SC
Posts: 1,811
750F scam

this car on Craigslist:
1959 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Spider Veloce 750F SUPER GREAT

Is the same one that sold on ebay two weeks ago
Alfa Romeo:eBay Motors (item 260492836594 end time Oct-22-09 15:07:53 PDT)

And is $30k cheaper.
__________________
Ed Prytherch
79 Spider Veloce
85 GTV6
88 Milano Verde
88 Milano Verde
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2009, 08:14 PM
RC Hiatt's Avatar
Alfanumeric Member, Senor
Gold Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NW Or & SW Wa
Posts: 766
Did you flag it, as I did, or expect the scammer to do the right thing?
__________________
Todays toy count: 73 Alfa spider, 72 Alfa Spider, 78 Fiat Spider, Royal Enfield 500 Spyder

Last edited by RC Hiatt; 11-04-2009 at 08:16 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2009, 08:20 PM
alfaparticle's Avatar
Senior Member
Gold Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbia SC
Posts: 1,811
I don't know how to do that.
__________________
Ed Prytherch
79 Spider Veloce
85 GTV6
88 Milano Verde
88 Milano Verde
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2009, 08:51 PM
RC Hiatt's Avatar
Alfanumeric Member, Senor
Gold Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NW Or & SW Wa
Posts: 766
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfaparticle View Post
I don't know how to do that.
Upper right hand corner of Craigslist. Click on prohibited. Its easy.
__________________
Todays toy count: 73 Alfa spider, 72 Alfa Spider, 78 Fiat Spider, Royal Enfield 500 Spyder
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2009, 01:43 AM
ShadeTree's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 246
It's on the Houston Craigslist as well and I just flagged it.
__________________
Brad
'69 Series 1 GTV (105.51)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2009, 06:33 AM
Tater's Avatar
E I E I O
Gold Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Orleans, in a van down by the river
Posts: 61
This link will show all instances of this car on craigslist: 1959 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Spider site: craigslist.com - Google Search

Flag them all.
__________________
__________________
Eric
69 1750 Roundtail Spider
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2009, 01:01 PM
alfaparticle's Avatar
Senior Member
Gold Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbia SC
Posts: 1,811
I emailed the scammer and got this in reply
>
1959 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Spider Veloce 750F
Thu, November 5, 2009 12:22:11 PMFrom: Thomson Maverick <mavet58@gmail.com>

Hi,
I am selling this car because my platoon has been sent back to Afghanistan and don't want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before November 11. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn't been involved in any accident..I do have the title , clear, under my name.The car have 20000 miles, year 1959 and VIN AR1495 * 05063
It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $13,900. The car is in Great Falls, MT, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
P.S. Please do not reply, If you do not have the money.
Thank you!
Maverick Thomson
__________________
Ed Prytherch
79 Spider Veloce
85 GTV6
88 Milano Verde
88 Milano Verde
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2009, 02:34 PM
Gregg822's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Louisville Ky
Posts: 88
I got the same email
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2009, 03:17 PM
skiwalk's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lakewood CO USA
Posts: 13
It's also listed on the Louisville KY site. Interesting, the scumbag only lists it on smaller location sites, hoping to lure people in.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2009, 05:35 PM
Nicola's Avatar
I was an oxymoron
Platinum Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: In the shadows of Tahoma
Posts: 2,264
Yeah, and he wants it sold by Veterans' Day - ironic that he claims that he is deploying. 8^(
__________________
I'd rather be in an Alfa praying to God that we'll make it home, than sitting in a church thinking about my Alfa.

Gordy Hyde

1974 Spider 2000 ~ "Mia" (Carb-free)
1971 Junior Zagato 1750 (1800605) ~ "Zach"

"You see that car? Is it different from all the others? Then it's a Zagato."
~ Elio Zagato
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2009, 06:51 PM
Gregg822's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Louisville Ky
Posts: 88
1959 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Spider READY TO GO-SUPER NICE This is the louisville ad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-06-2009, 03:52 AM
Mando's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 26
I flagged it in Pensacola Florida.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-06-2009, 11:53 AM
Lou Scognamigli's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 72
been playing with the guy for a few days now. Got the price down to $10,750.
Asked him about green firewall here is his answer
green engine compartment? Good question. My grandfather was a noted specialist in Italian and British sports and racing cars and he was meticulous in his restorations – both the work that he did and the work that was done for him – but he was somewhat eccentric when it came to colors. He liked a colorful engine bay, hence the paint scheme, non-original polished cam covers, etc. Not a difficult area to change as the green extends only as far as the “frame rails”....the paint was done to a very, very high standard. I live in Great Falls, MT now...also the ca has 5-speed manual.
I asked him who his grandfather was, thought it would be great to know for the cars provenance! waiting for an answer

I reported him to the FTC and gave him all the info I had, probably can't do anything though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11-06-2009, 12:42 PM
ShadeTree's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 246
This guys English is pretty good. Normally they're from the Ukraine or other Eastern European countries where their English is terrible. This guy might actually be in the US, and if so, could be well prosecuted if caught.
__________________
Brad
'69 Series 1 GTV (105.51)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11-06-2009, 12:49 PM
Lou Scognamigli's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 72
This was his last email to me after I asked about his grandfather, his English is getting worse, starting to sound a little Russian
I also gave him an address to send the car to, I wonder how his Italian is?! Will let you know if he answers

Lou Stucazzo
Merda Dr
Charlotte, NC 28216

WHAT ....WHEN.....WHERE.

go to find other car please
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



AlfaBB Blog Articles

Advertisement


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2
Copyright 2002-2008 AlfaBB.com All Rights Reserved.


An exclusive design by: Forumskin.com