#1 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2009, 12:29 PM
Dan Walker's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prescott Arizona
Posts: 665
Exclamation The scammers are back!

Haven't really been paying attention lately, but this jumped out at me on eBay. Just noticed someone is trying to sell Bruno's nice Giulia Spider (he was asking $35K on eBay auction that recently closed- car located near L.A.)- this crook says it is in Austin, so heads up for potential buyers..... Alfa Romeo:eBay Motors (item 320428467008 end time Oct-02-09 22:19:07 PDT)
__________________
Dan Walker
'67 Duetto
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2009, 01:29 PM
papajam's Avatar
Trained Professional
Platinum Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 8,558
Send a message via Yahoo to papajam
Listing has been removed as of 16:28 Eastern.
__________________
Jim

Series 1 Euro 1750 GTV
Series 2 USA 1750 GTV
Series 3 Spider Veloce
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2009, 01:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
There have been three similar listings within the last few days. First was a 66 Scalino, next a Montreal (still up last I checked) and then the Spider. They all post only a few pics of a pristine car, almost no description and a ridiculously low price. BTW, this is my first post, but I have been lurking forever trying to learn as much as I can. Thanks for a great board!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2009, 02:49 PM
Dan Walker's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prescott Arizona
Posts: 665
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by papajam View Post
Listing has been removed as of 16:28 Eastern.
Thanks Jim- I did report it, hopefully others did as well- glad to see it come down. The bad thing is, the scammer may have gotten some contact info from the unsuspecting people who had already bid on it, and will try to part them with their money outside of the auction- buyers beware!

Welcome, Matt- I think you'll find the BB and the characters who also lurk here and contribute a good source of information- and occasional amusement!
__________________
Dan Walker
'67 Duetto

Last edited by Dan Walker; 09-26-2009 at 02:51 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2009, 07:00 PM
Junior Member
Gold Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Los angeles, ca
Posts: 26
Similar ebay listing for a black with red script 911RS clone. "Was son's car, he died I can't stand looking at it any longer...will sell real cheap OUTSIDE of ebay." Pure evil.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




AlfaBB Blog Articles

Advertisement


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2
Copyright 2002-2010 AlfaBB.com All Rights Reserved.


An exclusive design by: Forumskin.com