Alfa Romeo Forums banner

Gear Reduction Starter for 1972 GTV 2000

4K views 18 replies 14 participants last post by  Hans-Peter 
#1 ·
Does anyone have recommendations and feedback based on their experience? Also any particular brand of starter and vendor?

Thanks

#4 ·
Gear reduction starter

I highly recommend this. I got mine from Andy Kress at Performatek - Home and installed on my '76 Spider. Much faster cranking, less current draw, lighter weight, and sounds just like my '91 Spider that came with a gear drive starter from the factory. Also, much easier to install - especially that you don't need the supplemental front brace that attaches to the engine mount (this may be for the high torque starters used in the later cars. Added to keep the torque from breaking the bell housing but a pain to install).

#7 ·
I'm a daily driver Spider 2 liter, I converted to the BOSCH gear reduction starter four years ago, the second replacement in the last four years came from BOSCH with a fullsize starter and a sticker proclaiming it to be a suitable replacement.
It seems to me the gear reduction starter doesn't last as long as the fullsize, waste of money unless weight critical for racing.

#9 · (Edited)
I converted to the BOSCH gear reduction starter - doesn't last as long as the fullsize, waste of money unless weight critical for racing.
101/105guy said:
I have the Performatek. Used it for a for a few years now with no problems! NOT noisy ! These are a Japanese unit
The difference seems to be German vs. Japanese; not gear reduction vs. non-gear (at least from a sample of two).

Ranz said:
comment in a UK mag (car was a Jag) to the effect: "Works great, but makes a god-awful noise".
Would you expect anything electrical to work smoothly on a Jaguar?

Reactions: Ranz
#8 ·
I have the Performatek starter on my GTV as it has a high compression 1750 motor and the standard one was too weak....

Used it for a for a few years now with no problems! NOT noisy !